What is Raja Yoga: Meditation Explained

by | 11 Apr, 2024

A serene scene featuring a yoga mat

Raja Yoga, often referred to as the “royal path” of Yoga, is a comprehensive system of meditation that aims to guide practitioners towards self-realization and inner peace. This form of Yoga is deeply rooted in the ancient Indian philosophies and is considered one of the highest forms of Yoga due to its emphasis on the mind and consciousness.

Unlike other forms of Yoga that focus more on physical postures and breathing exercises, Raja Yoga places a greater emphasis on mental discipline and meditation. It is a holistic approach to well-being, integrating the physical, mental, and spiritual aspects of the individual.

Origins and Philosophy of Raja Yoga

Raja Yoga is believed to have originated from the ancient Indian sage Patanjali, who compiled the Yoga Sutras, a collection of 196 aphorisms that serve as a philosophical guidebook for most of the yoga that is practiced today. Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras are the basis of Raja Yoga’s philosophy, outlining the eightfold path of Yoga, often referred to as Ashtanga Yoga.

The philosophy of Raja Yoga is deeply rooted in the concept of controlling and calming the mind to achieve a state of inner peace and self-realization. It believes that the mind is the key to understanding reality and achieving liberation, a state free from all forms of suffering and illusion.

Yoga Sutras and Patanjali

The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali is a foundational text of Yoga philosophy and practice. It is divided into four chapters, each dealing with different aspects of Yoga, such as knowledge, practice, powers, and liberation. The Sutras provide a systematic and practical approach to reaching the ultimate goal of Yoga – self-realization.

Patanjali, the compiler of the Yoga Sutras, is often considered the father of Yoga. His teachings form the basis of Raja Yoga and have greatly influenced other forms of Yoga. His work is revered for its profound wisdom and practical approach to spiritual enlightenment.

Principles and Practices of Raja Yoga

Raja Yoga is based on the eightfold path outlined in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras. These eight steps, also known as Ashtanga Yoga, serve as a roadmap for spiritual growth and self-realization. They include ethical standards, self-discipline, physical postures, breath control, withdrawal of the senses, concentration, meditation, and absorption or enlightenment.

These principles and practices are not meant to be followed in a linear sequence, but rather they are interrelated and often practiced simultaneously. They form a comprehensive system of Yoga that addresses all aspects of the individual – body, mind, and spirit.

Yamas and Niyamas

The Yamas and Niyamas are the ethical standards and self-disciplines that form the first two steps of the eightfold path. The Yamas are ethical principles that guide how we interact with others, including non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, continence, and non-covetousness. The Niyamas are personal practices that relate to our inner world, including cleanliness, contentment, spiritual austerity, study of sacred texts, and surrender to the divine.

These principles are not just rules to be followed, but they represent a way of living that respects others and oneself. They are the foundation upon which the other practices of Raja Yoga are built.

Asana and Pranayama

Asana, or physical postures, and Pranayama, or breath control, are the third and fourth steps of the eightfold path. Asana helps to strengthen the body and make it flexible, preparing it for meditation. Pranayama helps to control the life force or prana, calming the mind and aiding in concentration.

While these practices are often associated with Hatha Yoga, they are also an integral part of Raja Yoga. They serve as a bridge between the external practices (Yamas and Niyamas, Asana) and the internal practices (Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana, Samadhi) of Raja Yoga.

Benefits of Raja Yoga


Raja Yoga offers numerous benefits, both tangible and intangible. On a physical level, the practice of Asana and Pranayama can improve flexibility, strength, and respiratory health. On a mental level, the practices of concentration and meditation can enhance mental clarity, reduce stress, and promote a sense of peace and well-being.

On a deeper level, Raja Yoga can lead to self-realization, a state of understanding and experiencing one’s true nature. This state of self-realization can bring about a profound transformation, leading to inner peace, happiness, and freedom from suffering.

Physical Benefits

The physical postures or Asanas in Raja Yoga help to improve flexibility, strength, and balance. They also promote better posture and can alleviate common ailments like back pain. The practice of Pranayama or breath control can improve respiratory health and increase energy levels.

Regular practice of these physical exercises can also promote better sleep, improve digestion, and enhance overall health and well-being. They serve as a foundation for the deeper, more meditative practices of Raja Yoga.

Mental Benefits

Raja Yoga is renowned for its mental benefits. The practices of concentration and meditation can help to calm the mind, reduce stress, and improve mental clarity. They can also enhance focus, memory, and cognitive function.

Regular practice of these mental exercises can lead to greater self-awareness, improved emotional regulation, and a more positive outlook on life. They can also help to overcome negative habits and patterns, leading to personal growth and transformation.


Raja Yoga is a comprehensive system of Yoga that offers a holistic approach to well-being. It integrates physical postures, breath control, ethical principles, and meditation to guide practitioners towards self-realization and inner peace. Its benefits extend beyond the physical, offering mental clarity, emotional balance, and spiritual growth. It is a journey of self-exploration, self-discipline, and ultimately, self-realization.